I-Character India

Downward Dog

Posted in Uncategorized by afr2114 on February 5, 2010

Goat and me in Jaisalmer

On the way back from yoga this morning, as I picked my way over the half-constructed road,  I heard a little jingling of bells and looked over to see a man walking a grey monkey on a leash.  Walking a little further, I saw four bedraggled chickens and one glossy rooster who gave me  scare, crowing loudly as I passed him by. The other day, in the Dharavi slum, I saw three goats being fattened up for a monthly sacrifice. In downtown Mumbai, I see cows constantly. But oddly, I barely remark on these urban farm animals anymore. That is, their presence here seems completely normal. This morning, only the monkey surprised me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna Rabinowitz said, on February 5, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    This entry reads like a Billy Collins poem!

    • afr2114 said, on February 5, 2010 at 3:06 pm

      Well thankee! Am flattered-igail.


Leave a comment